Musée des Beaux-Arts de Lyon

la-plage
Apolphe Appian, La Plage, c. 1880, oil on canvas

The Musée des Beaux-Arts de Lyon was delightfully quiet when I visited last Friday. Armed with a Carte Jeune Musée (which cost me just €7 for a whole year) I didn’t pay a penny (or rather, a cent) to go in. I headed straight for the second floor, where I knew I would find the Impressionists, amongst other things. In the end I picked this painting to sit down and draw. I think I was attracted to it simply because I love the seaside and, after four years in Aberdeen, I find I really miss it living in Saint-Étienne.

So, I spent half an hour or more sitting alone in the corner of the gallery, quite undisturbed, sketching away and happily reconnecting with the sea…

Leave a Reply

