Musée d’Art et d’Industrie de Saint-Étienne, post no. 1.

5-bike-pattern
50-tooth chrome steel chainring

The Musée d’Art et d’Industrie here in Saint-Etienne has three permanent galleries which relate to three of Saint-Etienne’s biggest industries: ribbons, bicycles, and arms. As cycling is a big hobby of mine (and shooting and sewing very much less so), my favourite gallery is of course the one about bicycles.

I headed there on Monday, paying nothing to get in thanks to my Pass Musée. The place was deserted, despite it being the school holidays here, so I was totally undisturbed. Being me, and having already seen this gallery, I headed straight to the hands-on section, where there are various bicycle parts you can touch. One of them was this chainring, which I traced twice onto my piece of paper (it was nailed down so tracing the whole thing at once was not an option) and, since then, I have enjoyed decorating the negative space with little motifs and patterns to create this little picture. It was quite therapeutic!

 

2 thoughts on “Musée d’Art et d’Industrie de Saint-Étienne, post no. 1.

Leave a Reply

